Ni Hao Ma?!

Familia!

Guess what? Turns out that during transfers week, P-day is actually on Wednesday! Hahaha, so I felt a little bad that I told you I’d e-mail the next monday. Oh well, I’m doing it first thing today! I’ve got some good pictures to send this week since I forgot to send them last time. Last night we found out what all the transfers are going to be tomorrow– Elder Leite and I are staying in Ramsgate for another 6 weeks. (Surprise, surprise!) And it’s a good thing too! We’ve still got people to baptize here before either of us can pack up and move! ūüėÄ

Me and Elder Masuku during splits

Me and Elder Masuku during splits

I tried to take a selfie with this big beautiful Catholic church in the background but failed

I tried to take a selfie with this big beautiful Catholic church in the background but failed

Sister Cameron gave us a box of belgiun chocolate.  Freaking, best, ever!!

Sister Cameron gave us a box of belgiun chocolate. Freaking, best, ever!!

We got the Kraft!!!

We got the Kraft!!!

One of these people is a guy called Terry, and he’s awesome. He’s a bit over 60, and his wife, Marian, is in her mid-50s. M- is a less-active member who loves the church but can’t always come as much as she wants due to health problems. Terry is super funny, and enjoys cooking us bacon sandwiches! He’s never¬†associated himself with any specific religion, as he¬†considers himself a free-thinker. The great thing about this is that he’s very open to¬†listening to¬†what we believe! We can see him being a solid, powerful member of the Church one day.

Yasmin's Baptism

Yasmin’s Baptism. With her mom and us.

Brother Doughty is a falconer. We were at his home for dinner and he showed us his hawk and falcon!

Brother Doughty is a falconer. We were at his home for dinner and he showed us his hawk and falcon!

How about that General Conference, huh? I’m not sure why, but this time watching the apostles speak was way more exciting than ever before! I absolutely loved the Saturday Morning session! Of course, we were watching it at 5 o’clock in the evening, but still! I left my notes up at the flat, so I can’t remember every single person who talked, but I liked Elder Uchtdorf’s and Lynn G. Robbin’s talks a lot!

¬†It sounds like you’re all having fun back in the States! Congrats Benson, on Homecoming royalty, and good luck Jessica with the rest of Homecoming week! I’m excited to see Sam’s awesome saxaphone¬†skills and Mia’s mad volleyball skills when I get home. Remember Sam, girls only like guys with great skills! Too bad about BYU’s loss, and especially Taysom Hill’s leg! There goes the season. Oh well, at least I don’t have to worry about it over here across the pond. That reminds me, Aunt Lee and Uncle Tim, thanks for the wave from Maine, I’m totally waving back!

You may be wondering why I made the subject of this e-mail the Mandarin phrase for “Hi, how are you?” It’s just one of the foriegn greetings I’ve been lucky enough to learn over here! Foriegn languages are so cool! I’m definitely taking another language class when I go to BYU!

Right now I’d have to say my favorite scripture is: “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. ¬†I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.” (Ether 12:27) ¬† Especially now, when I keep making rookie mistakes, and I’ve also seen it touch my investigators as well. ¬†Take a look at it and see what stands out to you! ¬†I love you!!

P.S. I need Grandma’s BBQ recipe for one of our part-member families! They love American BBQ!

Family picture: Me; My mom, Sister Shalvis; and my dad, Elder Leite

Family picture: Me; My mom, Sister Shalvis; and my dad, Elder Leite

My usual method of transportation.

My usual method of transportation.

Free desk on the sidewalk. Totally brought it home.  My study desk

Free desk on the sidewalk. Totally brought it home. My study desk

Leave a Reply

