Fall in Ramsgate November 2, 2014

Hiya from Ramsgate!

WOW! State Champs! That’s AWESOME!!! Way to go, Jess! I can see you guys loved the Halloween season this year! Unfortunately, Halloween isn’t as big over here as it is in the U.S. Only a couple houses were decorated, and of all the kids I saw walking around, they were limited to ghosts, Frankenstein, zombies, vampires, werewolves, and witches.  But it was still fun. We had a member invite us over to their house for dinner that night. She made us pumpkin pie!

So I’ve been here for a while now, and I’ve gotten kind of used to it by now. I no longer get weirded out when the cars drive on the wrong side of the road, the English accent is typical now, though I still don’t have one, and I can make my way around decently on the bus system.  Ramsgate at this time of year is wet. No snow yet. The natives tell me they rarely get snow. So kinda good, kinda bad. I like snow, but maybe no snow means it won’t get as cold as Idaho does. It’s getting dark early as well. It starts getting dark around 4:30ish now!

So to be honest, this is hard. I know I said I ‘m loving it out here, and I totally am. With all my heart! But it does get frustrating at times when I forget things or do something that should’ve been common sense. It’s hard to learn how to teach. Something helpful that I learned in the MTC though was to not expect more of ourselves than we are capable of. That’s not to say we don’t push our limits– how else can we grow? It just means that we can’t compare ourselves to others. When I got frustrated, I eventually realized it was because I felt I wasn’t as good as these great missionaries all around me. I want to be as good as they are, and I want it now! But it takes time, work, and faith. I am improving everyday, and I know it’s because of the Lord that I can do this. I’m still nowhere near where I want to be as a missionary, but I’m also nowhere near where I started, so it’s possible! It also helps that President Jordan gave me a trainer with enough patience to deal with my screw-ups, and the spiritual know-how to start me on the path.  It’s started off to be great and I really love the people we have met too.  Speaking of my trainer, Elder Leichte is going to be leaving soon! When the next transfer comes, he’ll have been here for 6 months, so it’s time for him to move on!

I love you and the sky is blue!  Love, Elder Packer

A look at Ramsgate

A look at Ramsgate

A look at Ramsgate

A look at Ramsgate

SAM_0281

Leave a Reply

