Guess who’s Moving Again

…not me. >:) hehehe, got ya!

Aloha family!

I’ve been doing pretty well this week at not being too jealous of you for being in Hawaii; although whenever I get asked about my family or like things, I do get a bit of a stab in the heart saying my family is currently in Hawaii at this very moment. Oof, there it goes again! 

It was cool to hear about your little impromptu sacrament meeting with all the Idaho vacationers! That’s funny they don’t like tourists for Stake Conference. Definitely better than just sleeping in and skipping it because your on vacation! We never go on vacation from the gospel!

Sorry I didn’t e-mail until today, it’s transfers week. Obviously, I’m stickin around here in Colchester, and so is my good buddy Elder Hou! Poor guy, looks like he’s doing all the cooking for six more weeks! It’s a good thing we’re both staying, though, because we’ve got a lot of work left to do here! 

Recently, we have been finding a lot of new investigators, but it’s been a real struggle to meet with them more than one or two times. Many of the people we meet aren’t the best at committing, but somebody out there IS. We’ve just got to find them. What we’re really focusing on this week with these new people is helping them progress. The biggest way is getting them to CHURCH! You wouldn’t believe how difficult it is to get someone to church sometimes! It’s a big deal, because that’s where they’ll make friendships and get support and also feel the presence of the Lord in His house. So it’s kind of important in someone’s conversion. So pray that our investigators will come to church and have an enriching experience this Sunday!

For myself, this week I’ve been focusing on bearing my testimony more frequently. It’s easy to rely on your own knowledge and teaching skills without even noticing it. But regardless of how well we can present the information in the lessons, we can never teach someone the way the Holy Ghost can. When we usually learn, we logically think through information and details and make connections between things until we grasp a concept that has been right in front of us the whole time. We connect the dots to see the whole picture. But when we bear testimony of the spiritual truths that we know, the Holy Ghost becomes the teacher and “the spirit beareth witness to our spirit” that it is the truth. With a witness from the Spirit, it is like looking at the picture without having to connect the dots yourself. Perhaps at this moment I don’t know how the dots have been connected, all I know is that I see the picture now. And with that full picture, I can see how these dots connect now! 

It is by this same spiritual witness that I know that Jesus Christ is the Saviour and Redeemer of mankind, and that He lives and directs this church today through his prophet, Thomas S. Monson. I’m so happy to be able to tell you that my family will be together forever.  This is the truth, and I’m having so much fun sharing it with the people of Colchester! 

Have fun in Haweewee, family! 

love, Elder Packer

1) A member made us this cake. I immediately documented it and named it the DIABETUS cake.

  

2) We walked into Chelmsford Cathedral last week while we were down there. No biggie.

  

3) We walk up this street every day. The hill around the corner freakin kills me!

  

Leave a Reply

