Jesus, Take the Wheel

Family, April 6th  –  Unbeknownst to Elder Hou and Elder Packer, the libraries are closed for the Monday after Easter for some strange reason, and so I shall be sending my briefest regards today, and a fuller accounting of the week tomorrow…

 

Hey Hidy Ho, Family! April 7th

Well, now I can do the rest of my e-mailing today, since the libraries are open again!  DANG!!! That conference was POWERFUL, innit? I don’t know if it’s just because I’m on a mission right now, or if the talks are just plain getting better and bolder, but that was one of the best general conferences of my life! Sorry they didn’t change the age for sister missionaries, Jess! 😀 I was amazed, I laughed, I almost cried, (I didn’t though, because I’m tough!), but most of all I was uplifted. Nothing gets a missionary more excited to go tell people about God’s prophet than hearing the words of Christ spoken through him LIVE! Well, we were a couple hours behind, but it was pretty much live. I had a separate piece of paper from my regular notes that I wrote all our current investigators’ names on, and I wrote down impressions I got that I thought would help them. Oh man. Some of those talks were pretty much specifically just meant for a couple of them and for me. I cannot wait to watch a talk with them!

April 2015 General Conference Watching

April 2015 General Conference Watching

There’s not much else to say about this week. Wait, never mind. Robert, my dear new Chinese friend, watched three whole sessions of conference on Sunday!  Bless him. The poor guy probably felt all conferenced out by the end of the day! I hope he understood most of it… Elder Hou doesn’t seem worried, so I’ll take that as a good sign.

We weren’t as successful at finding new people to teach this week, unfortunately. There seemed to be even less people willing to listen than usual. We evaluated what we could do on our end to try and improve this, and we’re working to improve some of our teaching/finding skills. With luck, and a bit of divine help, that’ll get sorted!

Interesting news: I cooked a full authentic Chinese dinner the other night, all by myself! …With Elder Hou standing next to me telling me what to do. But still mostly all by myself! And I can cook Chinese pancakes like a boss now!

SAM_0738

“Eat it! Go on…I made them”.– Eskelito

 

 

I’ve really felt so much personal growth in myself these almost 8 months that I’ve been here, it’s insane! I think I’m just going to close with my favorite scripture ever, that happened to be referenced quite a lot in conference as well!  “And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness . I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them.”

I KNOW THIS IS THE TRUTH! I could not even approach someone on the street without His strength and help.

Love you, Elder Packer

Jesus, take the wheel!

Jesus, take the wheel!

SAM_0747

We walk by things like this just round town center. Like three or four times a day.

 

P.S. Elder Hou expresses his love and gratitude to you for your help. He finishes his mission in the beginning of September so he’s planning on attending BYU-I after that. All that info will help him a lot. I don’t think you’ll be able to work with his parents though, mum, as they don’t speak any English and you speak no Chinese to the best of my knowledge. He still needs to return to China for his American visa and stuff, so he would definitely love to come visit before school starts up! And if he tries to tell you he’s on a diet, he’s lying. (Feed him well, he’s been cooking Chinese food for me every meal of every day. Avenge me. MAKE HIM FAT!) >:)

 

Leave a Reply

