Penny For Your Thoughts

Dear Clan Members,

As I have read all your e-mails for today, it has been impressed upon my mind that I must needs repent of something. Don’t ask me how I know, but I somehow get the feeling that I should take less selfies…so I’ll try to be better on that this week! Fortunately, I’ve got a few pictures left to send that are not selfies, that may give a bit more detail to this place I’m in. 

Well, this will be the last full week of the transfer, so next Tuesday you’ll get to hear if Elder Mthombeni and I are sticking together again! I can definitely say I’ve enjoyed Elder Mthombeni, and I’ve learned a lot about African life and culture from him! Unfortunately, I am not yet fluent in Zulu, dang it. But I now have to add the movie “Zulu” to my bucket list for when I get home! 

This whole last transfer, and really for a lot of last transfer, we’ve been struggling to find people to teach and people who will come to church. I really wish that we could’ve been blessed with a baptism here for Elder Mthombeni’s first transfer, so he could see the whole process and feel the joy when someone you’ve taught embraces the gospel and makes God a more important part of their life. He’ll definitely see it in the future! We’ll find that first person for him this week! 

This last week went a little differently. We went from Monday to Wednesday without teaching a single lesson, though we talked to many people and set return appointments that fell through or were cancelled. Then on Thursday, a miracle happened! Our investigator Gary was actually there and waiting for our appointment! We came in and taught him about the Restoration. He’s a bit too…easy-going you could say. We really felt the Spirit in there, and I just know he did too, but try as we might, we couldn’t get him to come to church with us. He agreed to read the chapter in the Book of Mormon that we marked, but that was all he wanted to commit to. Haha, sometimes we find interesting lazy people and I want to just give’em a kick in the pants and tell them to wake up and get a life! Preferably one in the gospel of Jesus Christ! …But I can’t do that. And probably shouldn’t. Although I wonder what would happen if I did…? No wait, I won’t. 

Anyways! Then that same day, we were walking through town center on our way to stop by a former investigator, when I saw a guy sitting on a bench who looked really deep in thought. We were walking past and I asked him what he was thinking about, and one thing led to another and we wound up sitting next to him while he opened up about feelings of weakness and guilt sometimes. We were able to share Ether 12:27 (And if men come unto me I will show unto them their aweakness. I bgive unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my cgrace is sufficient for all men that dhumble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make eweak things become strong unto them.) with him, which he really liked, and we testified about God’s love and how Christ’s Atonement can change us for the better. We invited him to meet up to discuss the Atonement further, and it took a bit of work, but he finally said ok. His cousin joined us about halfway through as well! We saw Clement, (he’s Romanian), on Friday and taught him the Gospel of Jesus Christ, which also made sense to him. I am pretty excited for this guy, the gosepl would totally turn his life around 180 degrees! Unfortunately, he didn’t show up for church and isn’t answering his phone or texts, so pray we can see him again and that the Holy Ghost will work on him!

Anyways, the other highlight of the week was giving a talk in sacrament meeting yesterday! Both me and Elder Mthombeni were assigned to speak on families, and I think it went really well.

I love you and I’m glad you’re all safe and sound and doing well! I pray for you every day! 

Love, Elder Packer

1) In the Herbertson’s house, there were these suits of armor. Had to get those puppies!

SAM_1027

2) Me and da Grays chapel! Tried to get others with more of a background, but they turned out blurry. Next time!

SAM_1035

3) The view at the lake near the shopping center called Lakeside. Huge mall in Grays!

SAM_0987

4) This is me and Georgina. Every week we do some work in her yard, and she feeds us. Good. Food. (cookies)

SAM_0996

5) We saw an old church when we ventured up to a place called Rainham. Not too far from the rail station!

SAM_1020

Leave a Reply

