Environment Rich in Blessings

Family Packer Dear,

Week has good been a it. Shining is sun the, the is Spirit a burning of like God fire, and I’m pumped just feeling! Haha.

But really, I’ve gotta love this work. I don’t know why, it’s not like we had any huge miracle or whatnot, and nobody was exactly throwing themselves at us to be baptized. But man, I just absolutely feel unstoppable! Talking about Grandpa Pocock’s talk, Momma asked the question, “Do you feel you live in an environment rich in blessings?”  Well, As Jeffrey R. Holland would put it, the answer is an unequivocal and eternal- YES! “Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.” I kind of feel like spiritual blessings always come immediately when you’re trying to live the gospel. Even if it’s just a feeling of peace or comfort.  I’ll just go through the week like mum suggested and I can figure out why I’m as a fat boy holding a Twinkie. (than means happy)

Monday wast the P-day. “Elder Packer saith unto them, I go a bowling. They say unto him, We also go with thee. They went forth, and entered into a lane immediately; and that day they scored nothing.”- John 21:3.      But hey, it was a fun district activity! We also visited a couple on our street who have like, 9 or 10 pet snakes! They let us touch them and watch them get fed. Unfortunately they absolutely refused to hear a word about religion, (the couple, not the snakes… Snakes don’t have ears.), but it was still fun. It turns out the lady is actually quite interested in Family History, so she’s coming to meet the ward family history consultant tomorrow! There is always something for someone.  In the evening the other two district leaders and their comps came and slept over at our flat. All our food we got today is now gone.

Tuesday– The district leaders of the Canterbury zone, (me, Elder Kalabanko, and Elder Gálvez), wake up at flipping 4:30 to get ready for a meeting in London. The ZL’s (Elder Ramsay and Poole – really fun guys and good examples) pick us up in the car at 6 and we arrive in the Hyde Park chapel at 9. Traffic. The rest of the entire day is a Mission Leadership conference for all of the new leaders in the mission. Good stuff, but really long. I accidentally missed one of the trainings due to a surprise attack from the Sandman.

Wednesday– Back in town, ’twas a regular day of hard work with my companion. Had dinner with the Charman family- they had actual chilli and cornbread! American cornbread! They’re good people and we enjoyed being with them.

Thursday– The first District meeting. Way good. I was having a hard time finding out what needed to be trained on together until Wednesday night. I called everyone and asked them to prepare their testimony of the Book of Mormon and how it has helped them in their missions, and instead of just a regular training we had a neat heartfelt testimony meeting. Then we got KFC together. Then we came home and I made a mistake. I was just going to look at some of the key indicators for the district, but I accidentally sat down on the couch. 30-40 minutes later I woke up and felt like a waster. That night we had a lesson with Kizzy at a member’s home, and try as I might, I just didn’t feel what I wanted. If you want to know what I was looking for, look at the first bullet point under the sub-title “A Successful Missionary” on the 10th page of Preach My Gospel. I live for that. I learned a powerful lesson that diligence is key to having the Spirit with you. 

Friday– We had a workover with the zone leaders today! Both me and Elder Nakomaha loved it! I stayed here in Gillingham with Elder Ramsey, who used to serve in this area about a year ago, so he actually knew more about it than I did. He’s just an awesome guy who knows how to make you feel good about yourself. And if you ever ask him how he’s doing, he’s always “living the dream!” While he was here we went to the G2 sisters’ area and did a blitz with them, which was really fun. We decided to have lunch afterwards, so we went into Tesco’s. All their stuff, well, sucks. We searched the whole store for something worthy of our stomachs, and then finally, I saw it. A warm Apple Pie for a pound. For lunch we all split an apple pie and a box of ice cream with some cheap plastic forks. Dream come true!!! Yes, Living the Dream!

Saturday – Had some lessons with a couple people who are interested in the church and it’s doctrine, so that’s good. One of them sounds more like he’s just looking for holes to poke at the moment, but we’ll work with him. I completed the Hawkins family challenge for all new missionaries.  They are a family here we had dinner with. The challenge is to eat one of each dessert she created. It was way harder than it sounds- she made soooo many desserts!  

Sunday– We weren’t planning on seeing any of the people we’re working with at church yesterday, but then Kizzy showed up and sat down with us just like, “Hey guys, what’s up?” And we were like, “Not much, didn’t you say you were working today?” And she was like, “Yeah, I’ll have to leave later on, but I’m here for now.” So that was cool.

Well that was my week. Yeah, it was pretty good. I’m lovin life right now. The sky is completely clear and blue except for that wispy bit way over in the east, so I didn’t even have to wear a jumper today!

Take luck!

Love, Elder Packer

P.S. Dear Father, I’m trying to schedule some driving lessons right now, so I’ll probably do that this week and be able to take the test again in the next 2-3 weeks! It’s one of my goals for this transfer!  To pass the illusive driver’s test.

1) Elder Nakomaha. Pre-haircut. I warned him I don’t cut hair!

SAM_1198

2) Elder Nakomaha. Post-haircut. Note, head still on shoulders.

SAM_1199

3) Me and Ashley the 8-yr old. Great kid!

SAM_1195

Leave a Reply

