Meetings4Dayz

Dear Family of Packers,

There’s not a whole lot to share about the week. We spent most of it in the car or at meetings. 😛 We got to go to Mission Leadership Conference on Thursday and discuss the needs/challenges of the mission, then on Friday between a few appointments we had we prepared zone meeting for the next day. Then on Saturday we had zone meeting, which was good fun and took a good portion of the day, after which we went and presented the Church’s Christmas Initiative to a gathering of 600 youth from the surrounding stakes, which took up the remainder of the day. We were so freaking wasted that night but it was really fun to be with the youth. Our investigator, Pawel, (pronounced Pavel, he’s Polish), can pretty much get baptised whenever, he’s just having trouble opening his heart and his mind to the concept of God being his Father and the need for the Savior Jesus Christ. He’s such a nice guy, although a bit socially awkward, and he sincerely does want to believe and have that relationship with God. I love going over to teach him, we always have a laugh. Hopefully when he gets back from America on Friday he’ll have some good counsel from his Mormon friend there.

I’m so glad me and Elder Nakomaha are the Packer Fam 12 Days of Christmas recipients this year! I just have a question about it though. Should I start on the 13th or the 14th, and do I start with Day 1 and go up, or Day 12 and count down? Small wonderings from a pleased boy with no clue.  

Man, this Christmas is going to be my last one as a missionary. I’m excited, but I’m also very sad about that. This time of year just seems very different than what it was when I spent it back home.  Especially now. I’ve been focused so much on God, Jesus Christ and His work this past year; and celebrating His birth has taken on a new meaning for me. I didn’t really know or have a close relationship with my Savior before I came to England. But I wanted to. As I’ve studied the scriptures, I’ve learned a bit of how to do that. If you watch the video, “A Savior Is Born”, (find it at lds.org) the children mention a few titles or names for Jesus Christ. They’re quoting Isaiah 9:6, and I’ve come to appreciate the truth of His names. One of my favorite is “Counselor”.  I can bring anything and everything to him and my Father in prayer and sort things out with him. One way he’s been my Counselor on my mission has been Him showing me my weaknesses, (remember Ether 12:27 -“And if men come unto me I will show unto them their aweakness. I bgive unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my cgrace is sufficient for all men thatdhumble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make eweak things become strong unto them.”), many of the times in some funny humorous ways. He’s never held back any correction from me, but with that correction has always been hope as well. There have been times on my mission when I felt overwhelmed, like I was being beaten and squashed into the ground. Then I wound up on my knees, begging and pleading like I never have before and I felt like He comforted and counselled me again. Then when I’d eventually find myself on top of things again, I found myself using his other names, like Wonderful, and the Prince of Peace. So my Family Home Evening challenge for you guys is to find some other titles you know Jesus Christ by and tell me how you know him by those names! I love my Savior now.

Our P-day hasn’t been much of a P-day, we’ve been helping a couple people move and doing call-ins with the APs. I absolutely died watching those dubsmash videos you guys sent me!  That was so funny! I’ll try to send you some funny stuff from our zone meeting this week!

I love you and the blue is sky! Happy Christmas!

Love, Elder Packer

Role play: sharing the Christmas video with the McNamee family

IMG_0108

Le St. Albans zone

IMG_0107 2

Gillingham crew at MLC on Thursday! Me, Sister Ranck, and Elder Ramsay!

IMG_0242

Elder Leite and I with the 600 (minus 540) youth here in the Stevenage chapel! #lifeoftheparty

IMG_0925

 

 

Leave a Reply

