Good News, I Got to Wash a Dog

21 Now when Elder Leite saw that they were coming against him he went out to meet them, and prostrated himself before them to the earth, and began to call on the name of the Lord; and thus he was in this attitude when the Lamanites began to fall upon him, and began to slay him with the sword.

22 And thus without meeting any resistance, they did slay a mighty warrior of Christ; and we know that he is blessed, for he has gone to dwell with his family in Brazil.

23 Now when the Lamanites saw that their brother would not flee from the sword, neither would he turn aside to the right hand or to the left, but that he would lie down and perish, and praised God even in the very act of perishing under the sword–

24 Now when the Lamanites saw this they did forbear from slaying him; and there were many whose hearts had swollen in them for their Brazilian brother who had fallen under the sword, for they repented of the things which they had done. And were received unto baptism. 

As you can see, transfers week is upon us, and my brother whom I’ve served with for a total of 6 months in all including (3 months as my trainer and these past 3 months), is having his departing dinner at the Stevens’ home at this very moment! Man, I’m gonna miss that guy. Elder Leite taught me so much here on my mission! We’ve laughed, argued, teased, sang and danced, and preached the gospel to all the world together.  Never did we cry together. I’m a man, I don’t cry. I weep with dignity.

Haha, I’m excited for this new transfer coming up. My new companion is  Elder Helisto from Finland. It’s his first transfer as a zone leader, so I get to show him the ropes around here while he drives us everywhere with his posh English driver’s license. I’m looking forward to meeting him, because I don’t really know him and I haven’t heard that much about him either. I love having companions who aren’t from the U.S.. It’s just cool. Makes me feel like I’ve got culture or something, haha.  In other news, we went to Silvia’s Dog Grooming shop yesterday to get our hair cut. Yes I really did just say that.  (Silvia is the Italian recent convert in our ward that we’re super tight with. I’ve told you about her, right?) Anyways, we go to her shop for haircuts.   She’s usually got six dogs running around in there, most of whom I know by name because they’re flippin adorable, and she tells us that while she cuts one of us, the other one is going to have to help her out with the next dog. So I got to wash a dog on my mission!

image1 2

Here’s a picture of Elder Leite knocking his last door as well!

image2

Well, I’ll hopefully have a lot to tell about next week! I love you guys, and I hope you have a good one!

Love, Elder Packer

Leave a Reply

